Fiction

The Supremes Sing the Happy Heartache Blues

Author: Edward Kelsey Moore

Publisher: Henry Holt and Company

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 320

View: 330

“Moore, besides being laugh out loud hilarious, has a profound understanding of human nature . . . A truly remarkable writer. This book is a joy to read.” —Fannie Flagg, author of The Whole Town’s Talking and Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Cafe “The arrival of [Moore’s] new novel had me singing anything but the blues.”—Julia Glass, National Book Award-winning author of A House Among the Trees and Three Junes From the author of the bestselling The Supremes at Earl’s All-You-Can-Eat, The Supremes Sing the Happy Heartache Blues, an exuberant and poignant new novel of passions, family, and forgiveness When a late life love affair blooms between Mr. Forrest Payne, the owner of the Pink Slipper Gentleman’s Club, and Miss Beatrice Jordan, famous for stationing herself at the edge of the club’s parking lot and yelling warnings of eternal damnation at the departing patrons, their wedding summons a legend to town. Mr. El Walker, the great guitar bluesman, comes home to give a command performance in Plainview, Indiana, a place he’d sworn—and for good reason—he’d never set foot in again. But El is not the only Plainview native with a hurdle to overcome. A wildly philandering husband struggles at last to prove his faithfulness to the wife he’s always loved. And among those in this tightly knit community who show up every Sunday after church for lunch at Earl’s All-You-Can-Eat, are the lifelong friends, known locally as “The Supremes” —Clarice, facing down her longing for, chance at and fear of a great career; Barbara Jean, grappling at last with the loss of a mother whose life humiliated both of them, and Odette, reaching toward her husband through an anger of his that she does not understand. Edward Kelsey Moore’s lively cast of characters, each of whom have surmounted serious trouble and come into love, need not learn how to survive but how, fully, to live. And they do, every one of them, serenaded by the bittersweet and unforgettable blues song El Walker plays, born of his own great loss and love.
Fiction

The Supremes Sing the Happy Heartache Blues

Author: Edward Kelsey Moore

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 320

View: 867

A novel of friendship, family and forgiveness, from the author of the bestselling The Supremes at Earl's All-You-Can-Eat, perfect for fans of The Little Coffee Shop of Kabul. When a late life love affair blooms between Mr. Forrest Payne and Miss Beatrice Jordan, their wedding summons a legend to town. Mr. El Walker, the great guitar bluesman, returns to Plainview, Indiana, to perform in a place he'd sworn--and for good reason--he'd never set foot in again. But El is not the only Plainview native with a hurdle to overcome. Among those in this tightly knit community are the lifelong friends, known locally as "The Supremes", each facing a challenge of their own -- Clarice, facing down her chance at and fear of a great career; Barbara Jean, grappling with the loss of a mother whose life humiliated both of them, and Odette, reaching toward her husband through an anger of his that she does not understand. Now, serenaded by El Walker's bittersweet and unforgettable blues song, this group need not learn how to survive but how, fully, to live. 'A joy to read! Besides being laugh out loud hilarious, Edward Kelsey Moore has a profound understanding of human nature' Fannie Flagg, author of Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Cafe
Music

Call Her Miss Ross

Author: J. Randy Taraborrelli

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Music

Page: 566

View: 978

An account of the life of the Motown superstar, based on interviews with family, friends, and colleagues, recounts her public triumphs and private failures
Music

The Billboard Book of Number One Albums

Author: Craig Rosen

Publisher: Watson-Guptill Publications

ISBN:

Category: Music

Page: 434

View: 254

Discusses more than 400 albums ranked number one on the Billboard charts since 1956
Rock music

Mojo

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Rock music

Page:

View: 317

Gospel music

The R&B Indies

Author: Bob McGrath

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Gospel music

Page: 1419

View: 546

Popular music

The Virgin Illustrated Encyclopedia of Pop & Rock

Author: Nic Oliver

Publisher: Virgin Books Limited

ISBN:

Category: Popular music

Page: 400

View: 800

Cut through the haze of rock reference with the updated second edition of this illustrated encyclopedia. There are over 1800 entries on the stars who have shaped rock history, whether they were destined to become icons or bygones, influential or infamous. Each entry provides essential facts and opinion on songwriters, musicians and producers and includes a sidebar of star-rated recommended albums. There are over 600 images to complement the text and a full album listing for each act at the back of the book.