Social Science

The Road Not Taken

Author: Michael Reisch

Publisher: Psychology Press

ISBN:

Category: Social Science

Page: 276

View: 531

First Published in 2002. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.
History

The Road Not Taken

Author: Frank McLynn

Publisher: Random House

ISBN:

Category: History

Page: 640

View: 201

Britain has not been successfully invaded since 1066; nor, in nearly 1,000 years has it known a true revolution – one that brings radical, systemic and enduring change. The contrast with Britain’s European neighbours, France, Germany, Italy, Spain, Greece, Russia, is dramatic – all have been convulsed by external warfare, revolution and civil war and experienced fundamental change to their ruling elites or social and economic structures. Frank McLynn takes seven occasions when Britain came closest to revolution: the Peasants’ Revolt of 1381; the Jack Cade rebellion of 1450; the Pilgrimage of Grace in 1536; the English Civil Wars of the 1640s; the Jacobite Rising of 1745-6; the Chartist Movement of 1838-48; and the General Strike of 1926. Why, at these dramatic turning points, did history finally fail to turn? McLynn examines Britain’s history and themes of social, religious and political change to explain why social turbulence stopped short of revolution on so many occasions.
Juvenile Nonfiction

The Road Not Taken

Author: Robert Frost

Publisher: Workman Publishing

ISBN:

Category: Juvenile Nonfiction

Page: 32

View: 539

For all of life's adventures comes The Road Not Taken, which The New York Times Book Review calls "a book that begs rereading'". This beautifully illustrated companion is inspired by Robert Frost's perennial poem. Heartwarming illustrations of a young boy journeying through a yellow wood accompany the original text of the poem. When a fork in the road arises for the boy, so too does the first of life's many choices. And as the poem progresses, so does the boy's life: college, career, marriage, family, loss, and, by journey's end, the sweet satisfaction of a life fully lived. The first children's book ever made of Frost's famous poem, this moving presentation makes an inspiring gift for graduation, marriage, career moves, and all of life's exciting roads.
Biography & Autobiography

The Road Not Taken

Author: Max Boot

Publisher: Head of Zeus Ltd

ISBN:

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 784

View: 317

In this biography of Edward Lansdale (1908-1987), the man said to be the model for Greene's The Quiet American, Max Boot demonstrates how Lansdale pioneered a 'hearts and minds' diplomacy, first in the Philippines, then in Vietnam. It was a visionary policy that, as Boot reveals, was ultimately crushed by America's giant military bureaucracy, steered by elitist generals who favoured napalm bombs over winning the trust of the people. Through dozens of interviews and access to never-before-seen documents, Boot recasts this cautionary American story, tracing the bold rise and the crashing fall of Lansdale from the battle of Dien Bien Phu to the humiliating American evaculation in 1975. Boot rescues Lansdale from historical ignominy and suggests that Vietnam could have been different had we only listened. With reverberations that continue to resonate, this is a biography of profound historical consequence.
Poetry

The Road Not Taken and Other Poems

Author: Robert Frost

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN:

Category: Poetry

Page: 144

View: 783

Frost’s early poems, selected by poet David Orr for the centennial of “The Road Not Taken” A Penguin Classics Deluxe edition For one hundred years, Robert Frost’s “The Road Not Taken” has enchanted and challenged readers with its deceptively simple premise—a person reaches a fork in the road, facing a choice full of doubt and possibility. The Road Not Taken and Other Poems presents Frost’s best-loved poem along with other works from his brilliant early years, including such poems as “After Apple-Picking,” “The Oven Bird,” and “Mending Wall.” Award-winning poet and critic David Orr’s introduction discusses why Frost remains so central (if often misunderstood) in American culture and how the beautiful intricacy of his poetry keeps inviting generation after generation to search for meaning in his work. For more than sixty-five years, Penguin has been the leading publisher of classic literature in the English-speaking world. With more than 1,500 titles, Penguin Classics represents a global bookshelf of the best works throughout history and across genres and disciplines. Readers trust the series to provide authoritative texts enhanced by introductions and notes by distinguished scholars and contemporary authors, as well as up-to-date translations by award-winning translators.
Fiction

Mallory Cook and the Road Not Taken

Author: Charlotte Nash

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 336

View: 817

'I was enthralled . . . Nash's skilled storytelling will keep you turning pages until the very end' FLEUR MACDONALD 'Fans of The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry and The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel will enjoy this tale of friendship, family and the road' The New Daily ______________________________ One single mother. Three escaped pensioners. An unforgettable road trip. In their tiny, pale green cottage under the trees, Mallory Cook and her five-year-old son, Harry, are a little family unit who weather the storms of life together. Money is tight after Harry's unreliable and impulsive father, Duncan, abandoned them to expand his business in New York. So when Duncan fails to return Harry after a visit, Mallory sets off, determined to bring her son home any way she can. A chance encounter with three retirees on the run leaves Mallory leading an unlikely group road trip across the United States. Zadie, Ernie and Jock each have their own reasons for making the journey and along the way the four of them will learn not only the lengths they will travel to save each other, but that it's never too late to change the path you're on . . . ______________________________ Why do readers love Charlotte Nash? 'The writing is beautiful . . . Perfect for those seeking a romantic read with some bite' Booklist 'A tender story of living through grief and regrets' Library Journal 'A poignant story of loss, love and redemption . . . Beautifully rendered' Christine Wells, author of THE WIFE'S TALE ______________________________ *ORIGINALLY PUBLISHED UNDER THE TITLE SAVING YOU*
History

The Road Not Taken: Edward Lansdale and the American Tragedy in Vietnam

Author: Max Boot

Publisher: Liveright Publishing

ISBN:

Category: History

Page: 784

View: 457

Finalist for the Pulitzer Prize (Biography) A New York Times bestseller, this “epic and elegant” biography (Wall Street Journal) profoundly recasts our understanding of the Vietnam War. Praised as a “superb scholarly achievement” (Foreign Policy), The Road Not Taken confirms Max Boot’s role as a “master chronicler” (Washington Times) of American military affairs. Through dozens of interviews and never-before-seen documents, Boot rescues Edward Lansdale (1908–1987) from historical ignominy to “restore a sense of proportion” to this “political Svengali, or ‘Lawrence of Asia’ ”(The New Yorker). Boot demonstrates how Lansdale, the man said to be the fictional model for Graham Greene’s The Quiet American, pioneered a “hearts and minds” diplomacy, first in the Philippines and then in Vietnam. Bringing a tragic complexity to Lansdale and a nuanced analysis to his visionary foreign policy, Boot suggests Vietnam could have been different had we only listened. With contemporary reverberations in Iraq, Afghanistan, and Syria, The Road Not Taken is a “judicious and absorbing” (New York Times Book Review) biography of lasting historical consequence.
History

Zionism and the Roads Not Taken

Author: Noam Pianko

Publisher: Indiana University Press

ISBN:

Category: History

Page: 292

View: 736

Today, Zionism is understood as a national movement whose primary historical goal was the establishment of a Jewish state. However, Zionism's association with national sovereignty was not foreordained. Zionism and the Roads Not Taken uncovers the thought of three key interwar Jewish intellectuals who defined Zionism's central mission as challenging the model of a sovereign nation-state: historian Simon Rawidowicz, religious thinker Mordecai Kaplan, and political theorist Hans Kohn. Although their models differed, each of these three thinkers conceived of a more practical and ethical paradigm of national cohesion that was not tied to a sovereign state. Recovering these roads not taken helps us to reimagine Jewish identity and collectivity, past, present, and future.