Fiction

The Lost House

Author: Richard Harding Davis

Publisher: Good Press

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 136

View: 723

"The Lost House" by Richard Harding Davis. Published by Good Press. Good Press publishes a wide range of titles that encompasses every genre. From well-known classics & literary fiction and non-fiction to forgotten−or yet undiscovered gems−of world literature, we issue the books that need to be read. Each Good Press edition has been meticulously edited and formatted to boost readability for all e-readers and devices. Our goal is to produce eBooks that are user-friendly and accessible to everyone in a high-quality digital format.
Fiction

The Lost House of Ireland

Author: Susanne O'Leary

Publisher: Bookouture

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page:

View: 823

An enchanting story about forgotten family secrets that will transport you to the charming village of Sandy Cove on the beautiful Irish coast. Allegra Casey is searching for a new beginning. So when she discovers an engagement ring buried in the sand in her home in Cape Cod, the last place she expects it to lead her is to the west coast of Ireland. But when she arrives in the tiny village of Sandy Cove, she finds herself falling in love with the crashing waves, the picturesque coast and the warm-hearted people. As soon as she settles into her cottage at the old coastguard station, Allegra meets her eccentric neighbours. They believe the ring belonged to Davina Courtney, whose family still live on the Strawberry Hill estate just outside the village. And when Allegra visits the old mansion, she meets the charming, enigmatic Max Courtney-Smythe, the great-nephew of the former owner. As they try to solve the mystery of the long-lost ring, Allegra and Max grow closer, and it soon becomes clear that their feelings for one another are mutual. And as she spends more time with the local community, Allegra wonders if she’s finally found the place she can call home. But the reappearance of the engagement ring causes problems among the heirs of the estate and, as Max suddenly grows distant, Allegra wonders whether she should never have travelled to Sandy Cove. Is this where she will finally find true love, or is she destined to leave this magical place alone? Fans of Mary Alice Monroe, Debbie Macomber and Sheila O’Flanagan will fall in love with this delightful, feel-good Irish romance. What readers are saying about Susanne O’Leary: ‘I felt like I was actually in Ireland, I could feel the coastal breeze from the Irish Sea upon my face. This phenomenal story will touch your heart and make you feel as if are part of Maggie’s close circle of friends… I absolutely loved this.’ PageTurners ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ ‘OMG! OMG!!… I absolutely fell in love and it genuinely felt like I was packing my bags and being whisked away from my Irish holiday when I read the last page. Absolutely gorgeous!!!’ Bookworm86 ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ ‘Really truly amazing. Wow… This book is utterly delightful… Be prepared to be swept up in this story and these characters. I’m ready to go to Ireland now!’ @oh.happy.reading ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ ‘Stunning… heart-warming… I was hooked and glued to its pages from start to finish… left me once again smiling and cheering to the very last page… this beautiful uplifting story hugs the heart and puts a little faith back in love, forgiveness and happy endings… gorgeous.’ Cindy L Spear ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ ‘Truly touched my heart. Impossible to put down, this moving story kept me tapping the screen of my Kindle deep into the night until I reached the heart-warming conclusion… a stellar read, one that will be with me for a long while.’ Robin Loves Reading ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
Fiction

House of the Lost

Author: Sarah Rayne

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 416

View: 309

When novelist Theo Kendal inherits the remote Norfolk house in which his cousin Charmery was murdered, he believes it will bring him closer to the truth about her death. It will also be the ideal place to finish his new book. But the bleak Fenn House is a lonely and sometimes uncomfortable place to spend the winter. And the strangest thing is that Theo's new novel seems to be writing itself - and heading in an unplanned direction. Theo finds himself describing a young boy called Matthew who lives in constant fear of a visit from the 'cold-eyed men'. And then Theo discovers that Matthew and his family really existed, part of a dark and violent segment of recent history that threatens to reach across the years to tear his life apart. And somehow it all connects to the death of his cousin Charmery. 'Rayne handles a complicated story with many skeins very cleverly. A top psychological thriller' Good Reading magazine
Fiction

The House of Lost Identity

Author: Donald Corley

Publisher: Wildside Press LLC

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 344

View: 718

Fantasy tales and drawings by Donald Corley, with an introduction by James Branch Cabell.
History

Lost Country Houses of Kent

Author: Martin Easdown

Publisher: Amberley Publishing Limited

ISBN:

Category: History

Page: 96

View: 841

The first book to feature the lost country houses of the ‘Garden of England’.
Social Science

Iron in the Soul

Author: Peter Loizos†

Publisher: Berghahn Books

ISBN:

Category: Social Science

Page: 224

View: 542

In his vivid, lively account of how Greek Cypriot villagers coped with a thirty-year displacement, Peter Loïzos follows a group of people whom he encountered as prosperous farmers in 1968, yet found as disoriented refugees when revisiting in 1975. By providing a forty year in-depth perspective unusual in the social sciences, this study yields unconventional insights into the deeper meanings of displacement. It focuses on reconstruction of livelihoods, conservation of family, community, social capital, health (both physical and mental), religious and political perceptions. The author argues for a closer collaboration between anthropology and the life sciences, particularly medicine and social epidemiology, but suggests that qualitative life-history data have an important role to play in the understanding of how people cope with collective stress.
Country life

The Lost Village

Author: Ralph Whitlock

Publisher: Robert Hale

ISBN:

Category: Country life

Page: 217

View: 613