Fiction

The Loop

Author: Jeremy Robert Johnson

Publisher: Titan Books

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 368

View: 564

Winner of the 2020 Wonderland Best Novel of the Year award "Unputdownable...Fans of The Twilight Zone, The X-Files, and Stranger Things will be especially thrilled.", Publishers Weekly, starred review Stranger Things meets The X-Files in this heart-racing conspiracy thriller as a lonely young woman teams up with a group of fellow outcasts to survive the night in a town overcome by a science experiment gone wrong. Something sinister lurks beneath the sleepy tourist town of Turner Falls nestled in the hills of central Oregon. A growing spate of mysterious disappearances and frenzied outbursts threaten the town's idyllic reputation until an inexplicable epidemic of violence spills out over the unsuspecting city. When the teenage children of several executives from the local biotech firm become ill and hyper-aggressive, the strange signal they can hear starts to spread from person to person, sending anyone who hears it into a murderous rage. Lucy and her outcast friends must fight to survive the night and get the hell out of town, before the loop gets them too.
Fiction

The Loop

Author: Joe Coomer

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 208

View: 246

Lyman, a thirty-year-old orphan, is sipping coffee on the front steps of the trailer he calls home one morning, when a ninety-year-old parrot arrives with a beakful of cryptic sayings -- such as "That which hath wings shall tell the matter" -- and a mysterious past. Convinced that heeding the bird's wisdom will lead him to answers about himself he so desperately seeks, Lyman combines his night job as a courtesy patrolman, circling the highway that loops around Fort Worth, with days in the library. Together with Fiona, the loquacious librarian, he traces his adopted pet's origins, and while what Lyman ultimately discovers may not help him piece together his own past, it paves the way for a future he never imagined.

Human-in-the-Loop Robot Control and Learning

Author: Luka Peternel

Publisher: Frontiers Media SA

ISBN:

Category:

Page:

View: 816

In the past years there has been considerable effort to move robots from industrial environments to our daily lives where they can collaborate and interact with humans to improve our life quality. One of the key challenges in this direction is to make a suitable robot control system that can adapt to humans and interactively learn from humans to facilitate the efficient and safe co-existence of the two. The applications of such robotic systems include: service robotics and physical human-robot collaboration, assistive and rehabilitation robotics, semi-autonomous cars, etc. To achieve the goal of integrating robotic systems into these applications, several important research directions must be explored. One such direction is the study of skill transfer, where a human operator’s skilled executions are used to obtain an autonomous controller. Another important direction is shared control, where a robotic controller and humans control the same body, tool, mechanism, car, etc. Shared control, in turn invokes very rich research questions such as co-adaptation between the human and the robot, where the two agents can benefit from each other’s skills or must adapt to each other’s behavior to achieve effective cooperative task executions. The aim of this Research Topic is to help bridge the gap between the state-of-the-art and above-mentioned goals through novel multidisciplinary approaches in human-in-the-loop robot control and learning.
Science

Classical Feedback Control with Nonlinear Multi-Loop Systems

Author: Boris J. Lurie

Publisher: CRC Press

ISBN:

Category: Science

Page: 574

View: 632

Classical Feedback Control with Nonlinear Multi-Loop Systems describes the design of high-performance feedback control systems, emphasizing the frequency-domain approach widely used in practical engineering. It presents design methods for high-order nonlinear single- and multi-loop controllers with efficient analog and digital implementations. Bode integrals are employed to estimate the available system performance and to determine the ideal frequency responses that maximize the disturbance rejection and feedback bandwidth. Nonlinear dynamic compensators provide global stability and improve transient responses. This book serves as a unique text for an advanced course in control system engineering, and as a valuable reference for practicing engineers competing in today’s industrial environment.

Loop it Up

Author: Ulrike Gronert

Publisher: BoD – Books on Demand

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 40

View: 316

Computers

Languages and Compilers for Parallel Computing

Author: Keith Cooper

Publisher: Springer

ISBN:

Category: Computers

Page: 278

View: 586

This book constitutes the thoroughly refereed post-proceedings of the 23rd International Workshop on Languages and Compilers for Parallel Computing, LCPC 2010, held in Houston, TX, USA, in October 2010. The 18 revised full papers presented were carefully reviewed and selected from 47 submissions. The scope of the workshop spans foundational results and practical experience, and targets all classes of parallel platforms including concurrent, multithreaded, multicore, accelerated, multiprocessor, and cluster systems
Computers

Smashing WordPress

Author: Thord Daniel Hedengren

Publisher: John Wiley & Sons

ISBN:

Category: Computers

Page: 368

View: 719

The ultimate guide to using WordPress to make your life easier This newest edition from the world's most popular resource for web designers and developers presents you with nothing less than the latest and greatest on everything that WordPress has to offer. As one of the hottest tools on the web today for creating a blog, WordPress has evolved to be much more than just a blogging platform and has been pushed beyond its original purpose. With this new edition of a perennially popular WordPress resource, Smashing Magazine offers.