Health & Fitness

The Hundred-Year Lie

Author: Randall Fitzgerald

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN:

Category: Health & Fitness

Page: 304

View: 625

In a devastating exposé in the tradition of Silent Spring and Fast Food Nation, investigative journalist Randall Fitzgerald warns how thousands of man-made chemicals in our food, water, medicine, and environment are making humans the most polluted species on the planet. A century ago, when Congress enacted the Pure Food and Drug Act, Americans were promised “better living through chemistry.” Fitzgerald provides overwhelming evidence to shatter this myth, and many others perpetrated by the chemical, pharmaceutical, and processed foods industries. Consider this: · The average American carries a "body burden" of 700 synthetic chemicals; · Chemicals in tap water can cause reproductive abnormalities and hermaphroditic birth; · One study of lactating women found perchlorate (a toxic component of rocket fuel) in practically every mother's breast milk. In the face of this national health crisis, Fitzgerald presents informed and practical suggestions for what we can do to turn the tide and live healthier lives.
Literary Criticism

Inscribing the Hundred Years' War in French and English Cultures

Author: Denise N. Baker

Publisher: SUNY Press

ISBN:

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 287

View: 347

Examines the impact of the Hundred Years' War on French and English literature of the period, revealing the ways in which history influences literature and literature intervenes in history.
Juvenile Nonfiction

Gabriel García Márquez's One Hundred Years of Solitude

Author: Harold Bloom

Publisher: Infobase Publishing

ISBN:

Category: Juvenile Nonfiction

Page: 135

View: 557

An overview of the work features a biographical sketch of the author, a list of characters, a summary of the plot, and critical and analytical views of One Hundred Years of Solitude.
History

The Hundred Years War

Author: Robin Neillands

Publisher: Routledge

ISBN:

Category: History

Page: 324

View: 336

The Hundred Years War was the longest war in European history, a quarrel between two cousins resulting in decades of violence in the battle for the French throne. It was a war which wrought great change in two medieval societies, ushering in the Renaissance and having repurcussions down to the present day.
Fiction

The Hundred-Year House

Author: Rebecca Makkai

Publisher: Random House

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 352

View: 352

The acclaimed author of The Borrower returns with a dazzlingly original, mordantly witty novel about the secrets of an old-money family and their turn-of-the-century estate, Laurelfield. Meet the Devohrs: Zee, a Marxist literary scholar who detests her parents’ wealth but nevertheless finds herself living in their carriage house; Gracie, her mother, who claims she can tell your lot in life by looking at your teeth; and Bruce, her step-father, stockpiling supplies for the Y2K apocalypse and perpetually late for his tee time. Then there’s Violet Devohr, Zee’s great-grandmother, who they say took her own life somewhere in the vast house, and whose massive oil portrait still hangs in the dining room. Violet’s portrait was known to terrify the artists who resided at the house from the 1920s to the 1950s, when it served as the Laurelfield Arts Colony – and this is exactly the period Zee’s husband, Doug, is interested in. An out-of-work academic whose only hope of a future position is securing a book deal, Doug is stalled on his biography of the poet Edwin Parfitt, once in residence at the colony. All he needs to get the book back on track – besides some motivation and self-esteem – is access to the colony records, rotting away in the attic for decades. But when Doug begins to poke around where he shouldn’t, he finds Gracie guards the files with a strange ferocity, raising questions about what she might be hiding. The secrets of the hundred-year house would turn everything Doug and Zee think they know about her family on its head – that is, if they were to ever uncover them. In this brilliantly conceived, ambitious, and deeply rewarding novel, Rebecca Makkai unfolds a generational saga in reverse, leading the reader back in time on a literary scavenger hunt as we seek to uncover the truth about these strange people and this mysterious house. With intelligence and humor, a daring narrative approach, and a lovingly satirical voice, Rebecca Makkai has crafted an unforgettable novel about family, fate and the incredible surprises life can offer.
Health & Fitness

The Non-Toxic Avenger

Author: Deanna Duke

Publisher: New Society Publishers

ISBN:

Category: Health & Fitness

Page: 288

View: 821

The author, after coming to terms with the fact that the autism and cancer affecting her family were most likely the result of environmental toxins, drastically reduced the levels of all chemicals in both her home and work environments and reveals how readers can do the same. Original. 10,000 first printing.
History

The Hundred Years War

Author: Christopher Allmand

Publisher: Cambridge University Press

ISBN:

Category: History

Page: 207

View: 766

A comparative study of how the societies of late medieval England and France reacted to the long period of conflict between them from political, military, social and economic perspectives.
History

The Hundred Years War

Author: Andrew Villalon

Publisher: BRILL

ISBN:

Category: History

Page:

View: 660

This work, the first of a two-volume set, brings together essays of European and American scholars on the wider regional and topical aspects of the Hundred Years War as well as articles that revisit questions posed and supposedly “solved” by traditional Hundred Years War scholarship.
History

The Hundred Years War (Part II)

Author: Andrew Villalon

Publisher: BRILL

ISBN:

Category: History

Page: 512

View: 650

In thirteen articles, this volume affirms that the Hundred Years War was a struggle that spilled out of its heartlands of England and France into many European regions. These “different vistas” of scholarship greatly amply the study of the conflict.
History

The Hundred Years War (part II)

Author: L. J. Andrew Villalon

Publisher: BRILL

ISBN:

Category: History

Page: 477

View: 668

In thirteen articles, this volume affirms that the Hundred Years War was a struggle that spilled out of its heartlands of England and France into many European regions. These a oedifferent vistasa of scholarship greatly amply the study of the conflict.