Fiction

In Earthen Vessels

Author: Chandler Davenport

Publisher: Lulu.com

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 156

View: 568

He was only fourteen in 1950, but he had to take on manhood early. The depression that the rest of America had clambered out of a decade earlier still hung on in rural Oklahoma. A lot of people had solved that problem, in a way, by taking to the road west, lured by the golden promise of a better land; but those who were too poor or too proud or too stubborn to leave held on. Those who were poor, proud, and stubborn, like his family, managed to build a life out of corn bread, poke greens, labor and hope. It made them a special breed. But Jody didn't know that.Jody had to grow up in a hurry. His maturation fell into the hands of some damaged human vessels, who had to show him the difference between what's legal and what's right, between adulthood and manhood, between appetite and love, between respectability and integrity.

Departments of Commerce, Justice, and State, the Judiciary, and related agencies appropriations for 2004

Author: United States. Congress. House. Committee on Appropriations. Subcommittee on the Departments of Commerce, Justice, and State, the Judiciary, and Related Agencies

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category:

Page:

View: 166

Taxlady

Author: Becky Webster

Publisher: Lulu.com

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 146

View: 99

Taxlady
Humor

Hitler Saved My Life

Author: Jim Riswold

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN:

Category: Humor

Page: 224

View: 354

When advertising legend Jim Riswold is stricken with leukemia and prostate cancer, he quits the business that made him famous to become a “fake artist,” creating a controversial body of work with a controversial cast of characters, from Hitler to Mao to Kim Jong-Il. It was a decision that would save his life. Advertising legend Jim Riswold is a Big F****** Deal. Ask him, he’ll tell you. But when Riswold is stricken with leukemia and prostate cancer (a two-fer!), the freewheeling adman quits making commercials, and starts making art. But not just any art—Hitler art. Mussolini art. Stalin-in-a-bathtub art. This is not a sad cancer story. This is a molotov cocktail of raunch and heart and 18-gauge biopsy guns. This is a taboo-busting laugh riot, a raspberry blown straight at dying-guy preciousness and monsters of all kinds—cancer and world-historical bad guys included. Be warned—contents of this book include: One profanity-spiked TEDx talk. Several very public, full-frontal dick picks. Two adorable children. Something called “Interferon Family Fun Night.” Jim Riswold leading a crowd of people in a rousing rendition of “Happy Birthday” to his oncologist. Relentlessly funny, and scorchingly subversive, this is a bruised and bruising memoir—it is also tubed, scarred, stapled, and irradiated. But here’s the secret: Jim Riswold, enfant terrible, the man Charles Barkley once called “a role model for morons,” is kind of a sweetheart. The wise-guy posturing is just a cover for his pulpy heart. Another secret: This book isn’t about Hitler. It’s about the beautiful, stupid, gross, foolish, and fantastic things we’re willing to do for love and family and not-dying. It’s about a guy who, with due respect to Lou Gehrig, considers himself the luckiest man on the face of the earth. Really, Jim Riswold owes cancer a thank-you. Thanks to cancer, his tombstone will no longer read: Here Lies That Guy Who Did That “Bo Knows” Commercial. Now, it will say Here Lies the Guy Who Put Cancer in Its Place—and Mussolini on a Tricycle.
Fiction

Knock On My Door

Author: David Cullen

Publisher: Lulu.com

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 362

View: 368

"They say a lady should always have some secrets, layers which she allows to be peeled away only by the intimate few, a striptease that goes beyond the physical... The hard part is when the layers of your mind are stripped away also, until the very core of your being is exposed. And if the very essence of who you are is taken away too, what are you left with? Nothing." Based on true events, David Cullen tells the story of Carly, a woman who thought she had met The One to take her to heaven - and found herself in the depravity of hell itself. SHE THOUGHT HE WAS THE LOVE OF HER LIFE. HE THOUGHT HE WAS THE END OF IT.
Pets

The Dog Owner's Book Of Poop And Pee

Author: Mike Deathe

Publisher: Dogwise Publishing

ISBN:

Category: Pets

Page: 66

View: 136

Is Fido peeing and pooping in all the wrong spots? Are you pulling your hair out? Well, Keep it Simple Stupid Dog Training's Dog Owner's Book of Poop and Pee will teach you how to get Fido to "GO" in the right place, at the right time and even improve the way the two of you communicate.

I don't promise fast results — there is no magic bullet or Jedi mind tricks to fix the potty training issue! Instead, I teach you how to speak Dog as a Second Language (DASL) to tell Fido what behaviors you want and when you want them!

Mike Deathe, CPDT-KA, is a dog trainer who for years has seen the communication problems dogs and their owners encounter! In the end, the animal with all the "grey matter" and the opposable thumbs is still trying to force Fido to speak English! Welcome to Keep it Simple Stupid Dog Training, where finally you (the smart one) will finally understand that dogs don't speak English and it is your job to learn DASL (Dog as a Second Language)! Once fluent, I promise you and Fido will be communicating better than ever!
Fiction

Island

Author: Richard Laymon

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 361

View: 273

A luxury cruise. A desert island. A deadly killer. Breath-taking suspense and vivid moments of terror in the gripping horror novel, Island, by Richard Laymon. Perfect for fans of Joe Hill and Dean Koontz. 'Shocking stuff. Island is hard-written, blunt and a thriller reader's treat. Laymon enthrals you with no-holds-barred material' - Ipswich Evening Star When Rupert Conway set out on a cruise with seven other people, he planned to swim a little, get some sun and relax. He certainly didn't plan to get shipwrecked. But after the yacht blew up, that's what happened - he and his shipmates were stranded on a deserted island. Luckily for them, the island has plenty of fresh water and enough food to last until they get rescued. And luckily for Rupert, most of his fellow castaways are attractive women. But that's where his luck ran out - because the castaways aren't alone on the island. In the dense jungle beyond the beach there's a maniac on the loose, a killer with a murderous heart, a clever mind and a taste for blood. He doesn't like his new neighbours and he plans to slaughter them all... one by one. What readers are saying about Island: 'His story-telling ability is excellent with characters and shockers to fulfil any reader's desires... it is not long before the sands of this lovely beach are soaked blood red! At one point I remember literally jumping with shock' 'Island blew me away. Right from the very first sentence to the climactic ending, this book is very hard to put down' 'A must read, even if just for the last line'
Humor

Things People Do That Piss You Off at Work

Author: S. R. Banks

Publisher: Page Publishing Inc

ISBN:

Category: Humor

Page: 40

View: 834

Have you ever been at work and someone did something that pissed you off? Like being in a meeting and it’s always that one person who thinks they are smarter than everyone, but they really aren’t, annoying the heck out of everyone with their irrelevant questions? Or what about the person who uses the bathroom but does not wash their hands after they are done! They want to shake everybody’s hands, but they didn’t care enough to run those hands through soap and water! Nasty! And the beggar, you want a quarter, you want a dollar, you want a cigarette, heck, you even want a freaking bite of my sandwich—the sandwich that I made with my time and energy! The things people do that piss you off at work!
Young Adult Fiction

Together, Apart

Author: Erin A. Craig

Publisher: Delacorte Press

ISBN:

Category: Young Adult Fiction

Page: 288

View: 270

A collection of original contemporary love stories set during life in lockdown by some of today's most popular YA authors. Erin Craig "delivers" on a story about a cute pizza delivery boy, Auriane Desombre captures a girl trying to impress her crush on TikTok, and Bill Konigsberg takes readers along on daily walks where every step brings two boys closer to love. There's roommates-to-enemies-to-something more from Rachael Lippincott, a tale of a girl with a mask-making business and her potentially famous crush from Erin Hahn, and a music-inspired meet cute from Sajni Patel. Brittney Morris sparks a connection with the help of two balcony herb gardens, Jennifer Yen writes an unconventional romance that starts with a fortune reading and a take-out order, and Natasha Preston steals hearts when a girl meets up with the boy next door in a storybook oak tree. Romantic, realistic, sweet and uplifting, TOGETHER, APART is a collection of finding love in unexpected places during an unprecedented time . . . each with the one thing we all want: a guaranteed happy ending. In support of the book's publication, a donation will be made to Active Minds, a nonprofit organization dedicated to mental health education, research, and advocacy for young adults ages 14-25.