Social Science

Feuding Fan Dancers

Author: Leslie Zemeckis

Publisher: Counterpoint

ISBN:

Category: Social Science

Page: 336

View: 764

"Detailed, deeply researched, and compelling." —Chicago Tribune Historian Leslie Zemeckis reveals the lost stories of Sally Rand and Faith Bacon—icons who each claimed to be the inventor of the notorious fan dance. Nearly one hundred years later, both women come alive again.
Social Science

Feuding Fan Dancers

Author: Leslie Zemeckis

Publisher: Catapult

ISBN:

Category: Social Science

Page: 336

View: 386

Discover two forgotten icons from the golden age of entertainment: the lost stories of Sally Rand and Faith Bacon—women who each claimed to be the inventor of the notorious fan dance in this "detailed, deeply researched, and compelling" feminist history (Chicago Tribune). Some women capture our attention like no others. Faith Bacon and Sally Rand were beautiful blondes from humble backgrounds who shot to fame behind a pair of oversize ostrich fans, but with very different outcomes. Sally Rand would go on to perform for the millions who attended the 1933 World’s Fair in Chicago, becoming America’s sweetheart. Faith Bacon—the Marilyn Monroe of her time who was once anointed the “world’s most beautiful woman”—would experience the dark side of fame and slip into drug use. It was the golden age of American entertainment, and Bacon and Rand fought their way through the competitive showgirl scene of New York with grit and perseverance. They played peek-a-boo with their lives, allowing their audiences to see only slivers of themselves. A hint of a breast? A forbidden love affair? They were both towering figures, goddesses, icons. Until the world started to change. Little is known about who they really were, until now. Feuding Fan Dancers tells the story of two remarkable women during a tumultuous time in entertainment history. Leslie Zemeckis has pieced together their story and—nearly one hundred years later—both women come alive again.
Performing Arts

Sally Rand

Author: William Elliott Hazelgrove

Publisher: Rowman & Littlefield

ISBN:

Category: Performing Arts

Page: 280

View: 772

She would appear in more than thirty films and be named after a Road Atlas by Cecil B Demille. A football play would be named after her. She would appear on To Tell the Truth. She would be arrested six times in one day for indecency. She would be immortalized in the final scene of The Right Stuff, cartoons, popular culture, and live on as the iconic symbol of the Chicago World’s Fair of 1933. She would pave the way for every sex symbol to follow from Marilyn Monroe to Lady Gaga. She would die penniless and in debt. In the end, Sammy Davis Jr. would write her a $10,000 check when she had nothing left. Her name was Sally Rand. You can draw a line from her to Lana Turner, Marilyn Monroe, Raquel Welch, Ann Margret, Madonna, and Lady Gaga. She broke the mold in 1933, by proclaiming the female body as something beautiful and taking it out of the strip club with her ethereal fan dance. She was a poor girl from the Ozarks who ran away with a carnival, then joined the circus, and finally made it to Hollywood where Cecil B Demille set her on the road to fame with silent movies. When the talkies came her career collapsed, and she ended up in Chicago, broke, sleeping in alleys. Two ostrich feathers in a second-hand store rescued her from obscurity.
Performing Arts

The Costumes of Burlesque

Author: Coleen Scott

Publisher: Routledge

ISBN:

Category: Performing Arts

Page: 304

View: 264

The Costumes of Burlesque: 1866-2018 is the first volume to inclusively document burlesque costume from its birth in the 1860’s through the global burlesque movement in 2018. This lushly illustrated book presents the history and development of this American art form by documenting the origins, influencers, and genuine articles that created its aesthetic. Showcases of legendary performers, including Lydia Thompson, Gypsy Rose Lee, Sally Rand, Bettie Page, Kitten Natividad, and Dita Von Teese, demonstrate costume styles through the years. This guide gives readers a clear view of how burlesque costume looked and why. It teaches collectors, burlesque performers, and fans alike to recognize vintage pieces for what they are and to design their own costumes with inspiration from the originals. By including detailed costume documentation, over 400 images, and interviews with prominent costume designers such as Catherine D’Lish and Garo Sparo, The Costumes of Burlesque brings 150 years of burlesque costume history to life.
Fiction

Henna पीतातिरक्त

Author: Jasemin Sibo

Publisher: Partridge Publishing Singapore

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 116

View: 986

In a series of narrative poems, Henna ??????????: The Dancer from Cambodia travels back in time to the Golden Indochine era in the year 800 and goes forward to the mid-1970s, during a time of upheaval in Southeast Asia. In ancient times, various kingdoms ruled the countries we now call Cambodia, Thailand, Laos, Vietnam, Myanmar, and Peninsular Malaysia. Gigantic elephants served mighty kings, and mythical celestial nymphs danced for gods. Dancers called Apsaras were believed to be part human and part angel, possessing exquisite beauty and grace. They served as the Royal Cambodian ballerinas and had the ability to change forms at will. One such dancer named Henna is thought to be a goddess reincarnated. As she grows into a beautiful young lady, she faces many challenges and threats that force her to choose between good and evil. Then, as she lives on through the centuries, she sees the change that occurs in her beloved Cambodia—including the coming of the Khmer Rouge in 1975, when nearly all the country’s artists were wiped out. These narrative poems present a story of the human spirit, exploring Cambodian history, celebrating the ancient performing arts, and overcoming evil with love and grace.
Young Adult Fiction

Top of the Feud Chain

Author: Lisi Harrison

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Young Adult Fiction

Page: 240

View: 385

Alpha Academy: Where betas get booted. Eccentric billionaire Shira Brazille founded the super-exclusive Alpha Academy on exotic Alpha Island to nurture the next generation of exceptional dancers, writes, musicians, and inventors. It' s a dream come true for one hundred lucky girls, but those not measuring up can be sent home at any time, for any reason. The one left standing will win worldwide fame. Who will it be? Skye Hamilton Is stepping up her game as Shira sheds Alpha Academy girls faster than skin from a will-pumiced foot. There's just one thing standing in her way: island bad boy Taz Brazille. Can Skye keep a dancer's poise, or will Taz throw her off the music once and for all? Allie A. Abbott Finally knows who she really is, and nothing is going to bring her down. Not even AJ, who just can't let go of the past. But she can Bring. It. On. Allie's come too far to be sent home without a fight. Charlie Deery After bouncing like a dashboard hula doll between Allie and Darwin, Charlie finally has her BFF and Brazille beau by her side. But as the competition on Alpha Island reaches its boiling point, will her drive to win make her lose what matters most? If at first you don't succeed, you're not an alpha.
Fiction

Tender Feud: A Rouge Historical Romance

Author: Nicole Jordan

Publisher: Random House

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 320

View: 482

A sweeping historical romance set in the Scottish Highlands, from Nicole Jordan, the New York Times bestselling author Hoping for some new adventure in her life, Katrine Campbell retraces her roots back to Scotland, only to find Raith MacLean, a dangerous and breathtaking rogue. But the young laird Raith meets her with contempt. Not only is she a Campbell, a member of the traitorous family who betrayed his clan years ago, Katrine is also English. But their attraction is immediate – can they overcome the differences that keep them apart? Rouge romance - the best historical romance novels, perfect for fans of Georgette Heyer.
Language Arts & Disciplines

Translation Effects

Author: Kathy Mezei

Publisher: McGill-Queen's Press - MQUP

ISBN:

Category: Language Arts & Disciplines

Page: 478

View: 359

Much of Canadian cultural life is sustained and enriched by translation. Translation Effects moves beyond restrictive notions of official translation in Canada, analyzing its activities and effects on the streets, in movie theatres, on stages, in hospitals, in courtrooms, in literature, in politics, and across café tables. The first comprehensive study of the intersection of translation and culture, Translation Effects offers an original picture of translation practices across many languages and through several decades of Canadian life. The book presents detailed case studies of specific events and examines the reverberation and spread of their effects. Through these imaginative, at times unusual, investigations, the contributors unveil the simultaneous invisibility and omnipresence of translation and present a cross-cut of Canadian translation moments. Addressing the period from the 1950s to the present and including a wide scope of examples from medical interpreting to film dubbing, the essays in this book create a panoramic view of the creation of modern culture in Canada. Contributors include Piere Anctil (University of Ottawa), Hélène Buzelin (Université de Montréal), Alessandra Capperdoni (Simon Fraser University), Philippe Cardinal, Andrew Clifford (York University), Beverley Curran, Renée Desjardins (University of Ottawa), Ray Ellenwood, David Gaertner, Chantal Gagnon (Université de Montréal), Patricia Godbout, Hugh Hazelton, Jane Koustas (Brock University), Louise Ladouceur (Université de l'Albera, Gillian Lane-Mercier (McGill University), George Lang, Rebecca Margolis, Sophie McCall (Simon Fraser University), Julie Dolmaya McDonough, Denise Merkle (Université de Moncton), Kathy Mezei, Sorouja Moll, Brian Mossop, Daisy Neijmann, Glen Nichols (Mount Allison University), Joseph Pivato, Gregory Reid, Robert Schwartzwald, Sherry Simon, Luise von Flotow (University of Ottawa), and Christine York.
Performing Arts

Dancing Female

Author: Sharon E. Friedler

Publisher: Routledge

ISBN:

Category: Performing Arts

Page: 336

View: 540

First Published in 1997. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.
Travel

The Heart Of The World

Author: Nik Cohn

Publisher: Random House

ISBN:

Category: Travel

Page: 400

View: 373

Nik Cohn had planned a trip around the world, but when a friend told him that Broadway is 'the world within itself', he started walking up the Great White Way, from Battery Park to Times Square. Escorted by a drum-playing Russian taxi driver, fuelled by duck soup and whiskey and sleeping in crackhouse hotels, Cohn encountered pickpockets, dancers, old magicians, disgraced politicians, epic storytellers, part-time messiahs, and an unforgettable transvestite called Lush Life. Hallucinogenic history, rogues' gallery, personal odyssey, this extraordinary saga is also an extended love letter to a dream of New York now lost.