Social Science

Feuding Fan Dancers

Author: Leslie Zemeckis

Publisher: Catapult

ISBN:

Category: Social Science

Page: 336

View: 956

Discover two forgotten icons from the golden age of entertainment: the lost stories of Sally Rand and Faith Bacon—women who each claimed to be the inventor of the notorious fan dance in this "detailed, deeply researched, and compelling" feminist history (Chicago Tribune). Some women capture our attention like no others. Faith Bacon and Sally Rand were beautiful blondes from humble backgrounds who shot to fame behind a pair of oversize ostrich fans, but with very different outcomes. Sally Rand would go on to perform for the millions who attended the 1933 World’s Fair in Chicago, becoming America’s sweetheart. Faith Bacon—the Marilyn Monroe of her time who was once anointed the “world’s most beautiful woman”—would experience the dark side of fame and slip into drug use. It was the golden age of American entertainment, and Bacon and Rand fought their way through the competitive showgirl scene of New York with grit and perseverance. They played peek-a-boo with their lives, allowing their audiences to see only slivers of themselves. A hint of a breast? A forbidden love affair? They were both towering figures, goddesses, icons. Until the world started to change. Little is known about who they really were, until now. Feuding Fan Dancers tells the story of two remarkable women during a tumultuous time in entertainment history. Leslie Zemeckis has pieced together their story and—nearly one hundred years later—both women come alive again.
Performing Arts

Sally Rand

Author: William Elliott Hazelgrove

Publisher: Rowman & Littlefield

ISBN:

Category: Performing Arts

Page: 280

View: 661

She would appear in more than thirty films and be named after a Road Atlas by Cecil B Demille. A football play would be named after her. She would appear on To Tell the Truth. She would be arrested six times in one day for indecency. She would be immortalized in the final scene of The Right Stuff, cartoons, popular culture, and live on as the iconic symbol of the Chicago World’s Fair of 1933. She would pave the way for every sex symbol to follow from Marilyn Monroe to Lady Gaga. She would die penniless and in debt. In the end, Sammy Davis Jr. would write her a $10,000 check when she had nothing left. Her name was Sally Rand. You can draw a line from her to Lana Turner, Marilyn Monroe, Raquel Welch, Ann Margret, Madonna, and Lady Gaga. She broke the mold in 1933, by proclaiming the female body as something beautiful and taking it out of the strip club with her ethereal fan dance. She was a poor girl from the Ozarks who ran away with a carnival, then joined the circus, and finally made it to Hollywood where Cecil B Demille set her on the road to fame with silent movies. When the talkies came her career collapsed, and she ended up in Chicago, broke, sleeping in alleys. Two ostrich feathers in a second-hand store rescued her from obscurity.
Biography & Autobiography

Frantic Fan Dancer

Author: Jill St. Clare

Publisher: Balboa Press

ISBN:

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 300

View: 949

Frantic Fan Dancer tells the story of an eclectic mix of events that have passionately dealt author Jill St. Clare many hard turns. Being quietly ruthless to her wounded spirit, she fleshed out those events and cradled them kindly amongst whimsical tales and exotic travels. This is not a struggle memoir but rather an outpouring of St. Clare's very best, dealing piquantly with family issues and sparing any pretense. It is the unfurling of richly textured experiences for too long held captive in her mind. Most delightfully of all, in discovering her author's voice, she has allowed herself to indulge in her Father's everyday vernacular. "One of my favourite sections of beautiful writing is the first of the Cicada stories, which conveys the childhood heart of things so powerfully." Patti Miller, author of The Mind of a Thief and Whatever the Gods Do
Performing Arts

The Costumes of Burlesque

Author: Coleen Scott

Publisher: Routledge

ISBN:

Category: Performing Arts

Page: 304

View: 613

The Costumes of Burlesque: 1866-2018 is the first volume to inclusively document burlesque costume from its birth in the 1860’s through the global burlesque movement in 2018. This lushly illustrated book presents the history and development of this American art form by documenting the origins, influencers, and genuine articles that created its aesthetic. Showcases of legendary performers, including Lydia Thompson, Gypsy Rose Lee, Sally Rand, Bettie Page, Kitten Natividad, and Dita Von Teese, demonstrate costume styles through the years. This guide gives readers a clear view of how burlesque costume looked and why. It teaches collectors, burlesque performers, and fans alike to recognize vintage pieces for what they are and to design their own costumes with inspiration from the originals. By including detailed costume documentation, over 400 images, and interviews with prominent costume designers such as Catherine D’Lish and Garo Sparo, The Costumes of Burlesque brings 150 years of burlesque costume history to life.
Fiction

Henna पीतातिरक्त

Author: Jasemin Sibo

Publisher: Partridge Publishing Singapore

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 116

View: 330

In a series of narrative poems, Henna ??????????: The Dancer from Cambodia travels back in time to the Golden Indochine era in the year 800 and goes forward to the mid-1970s, during a time of upheaval in Southeast Asia. In ancient times, various kingdoms ruled the countries we now call Cambodia, Thailand, Laos, Vietnam, Myanmar, and Peninsular Malaysia. Gigantic elephants served mighty kings, and mythical celestial nymphs danced for gods. Dancers called Apsaras were believed to be part human and part angel, possessing exquisite beauty and grace. They served as the Royal Cambodian ballerinas and had the ability to change forms at will. One such dancer named Henna is thought to be a goddess reincarnated. As she grows into a beautiful young lady, she faces many challenges and threats that force her to choose between good and evil. Then, as she lives on through the centuries, she sees the change that occurs in her beloved Cambodia—including the coming of the Khmer Rouge in 1975, when nearly all the country’s artists were wiped out. These narrative poems present a story of the human spirit, exploring Cambodian history, celebrating the ancient performing arts, and overcoming evil with love and grace.
Young Adult Fiction

Top of the Feud Chain

Author: Lisi Harrison

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Young Adult Fiction

Page: 240

View: 163

Alpha Academy: Where betas get booted. Eccentric billionaire Shira Brazille founded the super-exclusive Alpha Academy on exotic Alpha Island to nurture the next generation of exceptional dancers, writes, musicians, and inventors. It' s a dream come true for one hundred lucky girls, but those not measuring up can be sent home at any time, for any reason. The one left standing will win worldwide fame. Who will it be? Skye Hamilton Is stepping up her game as Shira sheds Alpha Academy girls faster than skin from a will-pumiced foot. There's just one thing standing in her way: island bad boy Taz Brazille. Can Skye keep a dancer's poise, or will Taz throw her off the music once and for all? Allie A. Abbott Finally knows who she really is, and nothing is going to bring her down. Not even AJ, who just can't let go of the past. But she can Bring. It. On. Allie's come too far to be sent home without a fight. Charlie Deery After bouncing like a dashboard hula doll between Allie and Darwin, Charlie finally has her BFF and Brazille beau by her side. But as the competition on Alpha Island reaches its boiling point, will her drive to win make her lose what matters most? If at first you don't succeed, you're not an alpha.
Fiction

Tender Feud: A Rouge Historical Romance

Author: Nicole Jordan

Publisher: Random House

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 320

View: 295

A sweeping historical romance set in the Scottish Highlands, from Nicole Jordan, the New York Times bestselling author Hoping for some new adventure in her life, Katrine Campbell retraces her roots back to Scotland, only to find Raith MacLean, a dangerous and breathtaking rogue. But the young laird Raith meets her with contempt. Not only is she a Campbell, a member of the traitorous family who betrayed his clan years ago, Katrine is also English. But their attraction is immediate – can they overcome the differences that keep them apart? Rouge romance - the best historical romance novels, perfect for fans of Georgette Heyer.
Juvenile Fiction

Lion Boys and Fan Girls

Author: Pauline Loh

Publisher: Epigram Books

ISBN:

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 240

View: 151

Prome has taken over the popular Lion Legends as the Principal Lion Head and big brother. Taking his new role very seriously, he decides to make a pact with his loyal lion partner Mercury to ban dating and concentrate on their careers. But their plans go awry when both meet two curious girls with strong personalities. Meanwhile, the Legends find themselves under attack. First it was cyberbullying, then a garbage bomb and an almost fatal food poisoning. Why is this anti-fan targeting Prome and Mercury?
Performing Arts

Weird Dance

Author: Tim Rayborn

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN:

Category: Performing Arts

Page: 272

View: 603

Attend a grand ball of the bizarre and never look at dance the same way again! Weird Dance processes through the odd, grim, and unintentionally humorous history of dance, uncovering strange stories and weird facts. These dark tales of murder, rivalry, insanity, and more reveal all sorts of grim goings-on, proving that—for dancers—life was not just one grand plié. Stories include: An elderly woman who stepped out of her Strasbourg home one summer day in 1518 and began to dance furiously; nothing and no one could stop her. Soon, dozens more joined her, and so began another strange epidemic of the deadly dancing plague. The horrific fate of a young ballerina who had a run-in with a gaslight and saw her career go up in smoke. The medieval Dance of Death that reminded all of their inevitable doom. The controversial ballet that sparked a riot. The strange and macabre fate of the infamous Mata Hari’s head after her execution. The grotesque scarf accident that led to Isadora Duncan’s demise. From Roman Bacchanals to medieval and Renaissance dancing plagues, from the bloody world of ballet to scandals, ghosts, spirit possessions, superstitions, and more, you will attend a grand ball of the bizarre that shows just how awful dancers, choreographers, and even audience members have been to each other over the centuries.